Slovenia has a territory of 20,273 km2 and a population of 2,077,862. It is bordered by Italy to the west, Austria to the north, Hungary to the northeast, Croatia to the southeast,

After Liechtenstein, Luxembourg and Malta, Slovenia is the smallest Schengen state. The country joined the Schengen Area on 16 April 2003, and started the full implementation of the convention four years later on 21 December 2007.

Slovenia is known for the scenic Lake Bled, the Postojna Cave, Triglav National Park and its many castles. In 2017, Slovenian embassies and consulates around the world received 29,257 visa applications.