A landlocked country in Central Europe, Slovakia has a territory of 49,037km2. Its 5,444,218 residents are known as Slovak who speak the Slovak language. The country shares borders in the north with Poland, Ukraine to the east, the Czech Republic to the west, Hungary to the south, and Austria to the southwest.

Slovakia became an independent country after the peaceful dissolution of Czechoslovakia on 1 January 1993. Ten years later, on 16 April 2003 it signed the Schengen agreement. On 21 December 2007, it started the execution of this convention.

Slovakia has world’s highest number of castles and chateaux per capita. The Spiš Castle, which is part of the UNESCO List of World’s Cultural and Natural Heritage, is one of the most famous.