The westernmost European country, Portugal, shares borderland only with Spain, to the north and east. It has an area of 92,391 km2 and 10,371,627 residents.

It is the oldest state on the Iberian Peninsula and one of the oldest in Europe. Known for football, beautiful beaches and historic sites, the country manages to allure many visitors throughout the whole year. Most visited Portuguese spots are the capital of Lisbon, the subtropical island of Madeira, the second largest city – Porto, the small fishing village of Ericeira, and Óbidos – which is known for its many medieval castles.

Portugal signed the Schengen agreement alongside with its only neighbor Spain, on 25 June 1991 and started its implementation on 26 March 1995.