The land of the midnight sun, Norway, has an area of 385,155 km2. It has a population of 5,254,694 residents known as Norwegians. It is bordered by Finland and Russia to the northeast, and the Skagerrak strait to the south, with Denmark on the other side.

The country attracts visitors mainly because of its stunning fjords and its Viking heritage. In 2017, the Norwegian embassies around the world received 196,082 visa applications.

Norway signed the Schengen agreement on 19 December 1996. A second agreement, which replaced the first, was signed on 18 May 1999 following the incorporation of the agreement into EU law with the Treaty of Amsterdam. Norway started the implementation of the agreement on 25 March 2001.

It is known as the land of the midnight sun because certain areas of the country get 24 hours of sunlight for part of the summer.