The Nordic island country is located in the North Atlantic and is volcanically and geologically active. It has a population of 348,580, two-thirds of which reside in the capital of Reykjavik and the surrounding area. The country has an area of 103,000 km2.

Ecotourism and whale-watching are amongst the top tourism attractions in Iceland. However, in 2017, the country received 7,610 visa applications, least among all other states.

It first signed the Schengen agreement on 19 December 1996.  It signed a second agreement, which replaced the first, on 18 May 1999 following the incorporation of the agreement into EU law with the Treaty of Amsterdam. Iceland finally started the implementation of the agreement on 25 March 2001.