Czech Republic

Shortly known as Czechia, the country was founded as late as in 1993, with the peaceful dissolution of Czechoslovakia. The central European country has an area of 78,866km2 and is bordered by Germany to the west, Austria to the south, Slovakia to the east and Poland to the northeast.

It has a population of 10,610,947, 64.3% of which are Czechs while the rest are Slovaks, Moravians, Ukrainians and others. The country has a considerable income from tourism, with Prague listed as the fifth most visited city located in the old continent.

The Czech Republic signed the Schengen agreement on 16 April 2003 and started its implementation years later, on 21 December 2007.

Last year, 623,255 foreigners in need of a visa, applied for one at the Czech embassies around the world.